Victory’s Lola Tunic Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

This series is sponsored by Baby Lock. For over 40 years,  Babylock has been dedicated to the love of sewing by creating machines for sewing, embroidery, quilting and serging – all with ease-of-use, high quality and a touch of elegance.

stretch yourself logo Victorys Lola Tunic Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

Way back when Miranda and I were just brainstorming this whole series and thinking of patterns that we’d love to review, the Lola by Victory Patterns was on the top of my list. It is such has interesting lines and tailoring, especially considering it’s a knit pattern–I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it!

mad mim stretch yourself Lola pattern review02 Victorys Lola Tunic Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

The Lola knit sweater dress (or just sweater like mine!) is a digital pattern, so you print, tile, tape, trace, and then cut. (You don’t have to trace it, I just like to so I can make it again in another size if I want, and it’s so much easier to fold and store thin patterns).  This was the longest part (by far!) of the whole process, but when you’re dealing with digital patterns, it’s just the nature of the beast.

The dress (or sweater) assembly was very clear, and it came together pretty fast. The pdf includes detailed photo diagrams that make it so easy to follow and read more like an online tutorial.  It’s labeled intermediate which I agree with, but I also think many of you beginners with a little experience would do fine.  I did make a mistake that resulted in some tricky altering, but it didn’t have anything to do with the pattern or instructions. I chose a size based on my bust, but really should have gone with the one that corresponded with my big fat bum. The result was a nicely looser-fitting bodice and a slightly too snug skirt, which wasn’t super flattering.  I think this is an important note for girl’s with pear shaped figures like me.  I wish I would have gone one size up, but I gotta say, I felt it was a fortunate mistake because I really do like how it ended up.  I decided to move the pockets up, and made it into a long sweater rather than a dress.  It was actually an alteration I considered doing from the beginning, so I wasn’t too disappointed.  I ended up taking it in all over just a bit and it ended up more fitted; I love those princess seams!

Victory Patterns has such a defined branding and aesthetic, which I think is fabulous. Their whole look is so smart and feminine (I also love the art-deco-looking type face they use!)  The Lola is a fantastic design, and I think it will really be a great addition to my wardrobe–my husband loves this sweater on me! He has actually requested that I put it on, which rarely happens (ever…?!)

mad mim stretch yourself Lola pattern review01 Victorys Lola Tunic Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself
mad mim stretch yourself Lola pattern review03 Victorys Lola Tunic Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

mad mim stretch yourself Lola pattern review04 Victorys Lola Tunic Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

mad mim stretch yourself Lola pattern review05 Victorys Lola Tunic Review and Giveaway // Stretch YourselfDetails:

Pattern: The Lola by Victory Patterns in size 8.

Fabric: a dusty lilac french terry from my local Cotton Shop that I got in their clearance bin for $3/yd.

Hop on over to Miranda‘s to check out her version,–I love  that chartreuse color on her, and her styling is great. And I really love the pockets on hers!

For your own copy of Victory Pattern’s Lola Pattern, simply enter a comment below by January 22, 6 pm MST  for a chance to win!**closed**

BabyLock HortLogo K Tag1 Victorys Lola Tunic Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

divider

39 Comments

  1. Posted January 16, 2013 at 6:04 am | Permalink

    I’d love to try out that pattern – you make it look amazing!

  2. Posted January 16, 2013 at 6:16 am | Permalink

    I love that you shortened yours! I’d probably do the same if I won. I really want to try it out!

  3. Posted January 16, 2013 at 6:36 am | Permalink

    I’m so glad to see your shortented version – I actually like that better!

  4. Bettina
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 7:18 am | Permalink

    Thank you for the giveaway! I’ve been wanting this pattern for so long time! I like your shorter sweater!

  5. Posted January 16, 2013 at 7:42 am | Permalink

    This looks like such a nice, versatile pattern!

  6. Posted January 16, 2013 at 9:03 am | Permalink

    Love this pattern! I think the seaming would really help slim my pear shape!

  7. Posted January 16, 2013 at 9:10 am | Permalink

    I love your version of this, so different and easy to wear than any I have seen before!
    Count me in for the giveaway!

  8. alexa
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 9:21 am | Permalink

    I love it! And I would really like to make one for myself..

  9. Jess Z
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 9:23 am | Permalink

    Great piece to have in your wardrobe! Thanks for sharing your version of the pattern. Thanks for hosting another great giveaway! :)

  10. Posted January 16, 2013 at 9:41 am | Permalink

    I love pockets.

  11. Elise
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 9:45 am | Permalink

    Oh. wow. So cool, I would LOVE to win this pattern, and it looks beautiful on you!

  12. Deana
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 10:32 am | Permalink

    I am loving the Stretch Yourself series so much!! This top is great – please enter my name for a chance to win the pattern!

  13. Lizz
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 10:35 am | Permalink

    Ohhh nice pattern. Fingers crossed!

  14. Kristie
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 12:28 pm | Permalink

    Love the shortened look versus the longer tunic. But that might be because I am more pear shaped that not. :)

  15. Kelly
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 2:08 pm | Permalink

    How pretty! I’m not sure I could do as good a job as you (actually, I’m sure I couldn’t) but I’d like to try!

    Kelly

  16. Fawn
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 2:55 pm | Permalink

    Oooooh, I really love the color and fit on your tunic! It isn’t too drapey, very pretty too :) I bet your husband wants you to make more of these tops!

  17. Posted January 16, 2013 at 3:13 pm | Permalink

    I have been wanting that pattern for ages, even without a shortened version crossing my mind…I would love to win the pattern so that I can make my own!

  18. Posted January 16, 2013 at 3:26 pm | Permalink

    Don’t enter me in the giveaway thanks, I already have this pattern-I cut it out adjusted for height and cut my fabric and then summer arrived-so this one’s been pushed forward to next year. It is a very cool pattern though.

  19. Hannah
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 4:25 pm | Permalink

    I would love to try this pattern out! I love your color choice and fit.

  20. Kaydee
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 5:55 pm | Permalink

    The shorter version is adorable too! I would probably make both long and short in a whole variety of colors! :)

  21. Posted January 16, 2013 at 7:55 pm | Permalink

    Oh I love the colour… and great thinking to change it into a sweater, I prefer that. :)
    Thanks for the giveaway.

  22. Posted January 16, 2013 at 8:08 pm | Permalink

    What a fabulous pattern! I’ve got to try it, even if I don’t win.

  23. JP
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 10:00 pm | Permalink

    I’m loving the Stretch Yourself series… and I’d love to win the pattern!

  24. emily
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 4:06 am | Permalink

    I love the finishes on this pattern. Style and comfort. Would love to try it myself.

  25. Posted January 17, 2013 at 9:06 am | Permalink

    Please don’t count me in the drawing cause I already have the pattern, but I just wanted to say that this looks so cute on you! Way to overcome a sizing mistake and make it work!

  26. Posted January 17, 2013 at 11:41 am | Permalink

    I love it in the shorter length! I think I would need to try to figure that out since I’m not that comfortable in tunics because I think they make my short legs look even shorter. Also love your booties!

  27. Posted January 17, 2013 at 12:50 pm | Permalink

    I’d never seen this one before! It’s really great!

  28. fenna
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 1:57 pm | Permalink

    That is a very flattering, fun pattern!

  29. Jillishness
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 3:03 pm | Permalink

    This pattern is truly drool worthy. Thank you for this wonderful series!

  30. Sara
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 3:53 pm | Permalink

    This pattern has been forever on my wishlist. Would love to try it!

  31. Christy g
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 7:19 pm | Permalink

    Looks great!

  32. Megan D
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 9:18 am | Permalink

    I love this! I would love to make this!

  33. Lou
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 5:30 pm | Permalink

    I’m so glad you posted this!! I’ve had the Victory Lola book-marked as the next pattern to buy, but was very curious and wary about the too-tight-across-the-bum possibility. I think I’ll try it out and grade up a size on the hips (or shorten as you did – supercute!)

  34. Rachel
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 10:17 am | Permalink

    I love this top on you. The curved seams are very flattering. Thanks for the chance to win.

  35. Julie
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 8:06 pm | Permalink

    I love this shorter. So super cute.

  36. Hayley
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 4:50 pm | Permalink

    What a great sweater! I really like how the pockets wrap around to the back.

  37. Posted January 21, 2013 at 2:47 pm | Permalink

    I’d love to try this pattern – especially your shorter version.

  38. Sherri
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 9:13 pm | Permalink

    The top looks very nice on you. Thanks for the chance to win the pattern.

  39. Karen
    Posted January 22, 2013 at 4:25 pm | Permalink

    Nice pattern. Would love to win it.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • sidebar divider
    • sidebar divider
    • sponsors

    • sidebar divider
    • Grab a Button

      onelittleminute big button
    • sidebar divider
    • Instagrams

       
    • copyright stuff

      all the stuff (photos & tutorials etc) that you see around here is copyrighted by me (miriam tribe) for madmim.com. when using any of my stuff (photos & tutorials etc) for your stuff (blog, website or forum) please cite my website & work by linking back. thanks!