Stretch Yourself Week 1 Review + Fabrics A to Z Book Giveaway

This series is sponsored by Baby Lock. For over 40 years,  Babylock has been dedicated to the love of sewing by creating machines for sewing, embroidery, quilting and serging – all with ease-of-use, high quality and a touch of elegance.

stretch yourself logo Stretch Yourself Week 1 Review + Fabrics A to Z Book Giveaway

Well the time has come, my friends, to wind down our Stretch Yourself series. I definitely stretched myself doing this series, and so many of you have shared with us your big plans  to stretch yourselves with some of the techniques and projects we talked about. Yes! More jazz hands! Miranda and I have been so happy with the response you guys have given us, and all your enthusiasm made all the hard work payoff. You’re awesome.

The first week was our best shot at a knit-sewing resource guide. We hope that our posts on fabric selection, cutting, construction, and finishing techniques will help get you comfortable with the basics, and our posts on drafting patterns and tee variations will get you inspired.  There’s a lot of information there, so read now or read it later, it’s there for you when you have a question or are ready to break it down.

To go along with all the resources we’ve put together, we are so excited today to offer another giveaway (we’re on a rampage today!)  for the fabulous resource book Fabrics A to Z, which is a reference guide for getting to know and selecting fabric by Dana Willard from Made. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this book, and I’m sure it will come in handy as you go in for the tackle of your next knit project (It has a section dedicated to it!). For a chance to win this book, simply leave a comment below by January 25!**closed**

Fabrics A to Z Stretch Yourself Week 1 Review + Fabrics A to Z Book Giveaway

Fabrics A to Z knit overview Stretch Yourself Week 1 Review + Fabrics A to Z Book Giveawaypictures via

BabyLock HortLogo K Tag1 Stretch Yourself Week 1 Review + Fabrics A to Z Book Giveaway

divider

45 Comments

  1. Posted January 19, 2013 at 7:39 am | Permalink

    I didn’t get this for Christmas, even though it was on my list with thousands of other things, so I’d love to get it now! Seems like a great reference book to have!

  2. Kristie
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 7:59 am | Permalink

    I need to get this book. I have so many fabric questions, and this would be a great way to answer them! Thanks for the giveaway.

  3. Mary
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 8:05 am | Permalink

    Thanks for the excellent stretch yourself series.

  4. Bettina
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 8:22 am | Permalink

    I love books! I love sewing books, I love beautiful sewing books!

  5. Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:19 am | Permalink

    I would absolutely love this book! Identifying fabrics and choosing the right one for a project is the one thing I struggle with most!

  6. Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:29 am | Permalink

    Love this book…gorgous…a friend of mine has it and I SO want this :)

  7. Cathy Kizerian
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:39 am | Permalink

    What a neat-looking book. As someone who has sewn with knits in the past (can you say dinosaur?) this book should go to someone more deserving, so I just want to congratulate you on a great, informative series!

  8. fenna
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:48 am | Permalink

    That looks like a neat book! I love this whole knit thing–sewing with knits is one of my favorite and I love getting new ideas!

  9. Kathryn
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 10:47 am | Permalink

    I would love this book! :)

  10. Posted January 19, 2013 at 11:46 am | Permalink

    Great series! I’d love to win Dana’s book.

  11. Annika
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 12:02 pm | Permalink

    I’d love to have such a reference guide to fabrics. As a beginner sewer I’m sometimes really lost…

  12. Posted January 19, 2013 at 12:12 pm | Permalink

    I would love to win this amazing book!

  13. Sara
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 12:19 pm | Permalink

    What a valuable resource! I find myself shying away from trying any new kinds of fabric because I’m not sure how to care for them, how they’ll behave, or even what the right way to sew them is! This book would certainly help me branch out a little!

  14. kelly
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 7:28 pm | Permalink

    I would love the chance to win this book-thank you!

  15. Julie
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 8:32 pm | Permalink

    I’ve been wanting this book for a while. Thanks for the chance!

  16. Meghan
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:03 pm | Permalink

    I would love a copy of this book!

  17. Posted January 19, 2013 at 10:03 pm | Permalink

    Very cool. Now this is something I could really benefit to learn more about.

  18. Posted January 19, 2013 at 10:05 pm | Permalink

    I would love to break out of my finishing inside seams only serger mode. Love those thread colors!

  19. Dawn TB
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 10:05 pm | Permalink

    Como se mi tu!

  20. Teresa
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 5:20 am | Permalink

    I would love to try this thread. What a wonderful series on knits. Thank you!

  21. Deana
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 9:17 am | Permalink

    I’m a fan of Dana’s blog and I’d love to have this book!

  22. Posted January 20, 2013 at 10:19 am | Permalink

    Oooooh! Love all books!

  23. Donna Rae
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 11:07 am | Permalink

    Wow, check out the threads. So awesome. Think I need some new thread colors. Also, sure could use that book. Fabric has always stumped me and as much as I know, I still have lots to learn!

  24. Mary
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 4:02 pm | Permalink

    This series has been great! Thanks so much!

  25. Kaydee
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 10:43 pm | Permalink

    I would LOVE to win this book!

  26. Crystal
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 8:49 am | Permalink

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  27. Posted January 21, 2013 at 10:00 am | Permalink

    This book looks like a great resource to have! Thanks for organising this week, I have learned so much!

  28. Amy U
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 11:38 am | Permalink

    I could REALLY use a lot of education. The book would be mawvelous.

  29. Posted January 21, 2013 at 12:31 pm | Permalink

    I’ve been enjoying this series and would love to be entered in the contest. Thanks!

  30. Posted January 21, 2013 at 2:38 pm | Permalink

    I would love to win this book. What a great resource.

  31. Posted January 21, 2013 at 2:42 pm | Permalink

    this book looks awesome! would fit perfectly with the rest of my sewing library :)

  32. Posted January 21, 2013 at 3:07 pm | Permalink

    I need this book, too!! I’d love having such a pretty resource in my studio.

  33. Holli Coats
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 6:14 pm | Permalink

    I need this book! I was trying to find info about knits in my Sewing Bible the other day and it was definitely lacking. Thanks for this great series!

  34. Sherri
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 7:08 pm | Permalink

    I’m sure this is a great book. I’d love to win. Dana’s blog is awesome.

  35. Danica
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 8:31 pm | Permalink

    Thank you for all your posts on working with knits! They are an excellent resource, and I know I will be referring back to them.

  36. heather e
    Posted January 22, 2013 at 1:49 pm | Permalink

    I’ve wanted this book forever. how does dana do it?

  37. Mary
    Posted January 22, 2013 at 4:07 pm | Permalink

    Its been ages since my garment sewing. I am lost with all the fabric choices. This looks like a good book.

  38. Posted January 22, 2013 at 9:51 pm | Permalink

    I say there ole’ chap, whatcha got there? A coconut. Where’dya get it? I found it in England. You can’t find coconuts in England. Well, I did, Well you can’t. Well I did…..

  39. Susanne
    Posted January 23, 2013 at 12:00 pm | Permalink

    I have a pile of knits waiting to be sewn up, these posts have been building up my courage to cut into them. Thanks for the fantastic series and for the opportunity to win this book!

  40. Lacy H
    Posted January 23, 2013 at 12:24 pm | Permalink

    This book looks like an excellent resource that I’d love to have. Thanks for all your blogging; I have learned a ton!!

  41. Posted January 23, 2013 at 7:44 pm | Permalink

    this book would be a great addition to my (very small) ‘library’, i’m quite lost in this wonderful fabric paradise!

  42. Posted January 24, 2013 at 5:37 am | Permalink

    I´m sure its a good book , i want it!!!

  43. Júlia
    Posted January 24, 2013 at 6:21 am | Permalink

    I’d love to win this book! :-)

  44. HENAR
    Posted January 24, 2013 at 12:38 pm | Permalink

    I want this book!!!!!

  45. Posted January 24, 2013 at 9:52 pm | Permalink

    This series has been so great! I’m totally inspired. This book would be great to add to my sewing library!

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • sidebar divider
    • sidebar divider
    • sponsors

    • sidebar divider
    • Grab a Button

      onelittleminute big button
    • sidebar divider
    • Recent pins

    • Instagrams

       
    • copyright stuff

      all the stuff (photos & tutorials etc) that you see around here is copyrighted by me (miriam tribe) for madmim.com. when using any of my stuff (photos & tutorials etc) for your stuff (blog, website or forum) please cite my website & work by linking back. thanks!