Ottobre Design Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

This series is sponsored by Baby Lock. For over 40 years,  Babylock has been dedicated to the love of sewing by creating machines for sewing, embroidery, quilting and serging – all with ease-of-use, high quality and a touch of elegance.

stretch yourself logo Ottobre Design Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself
mad mim stretch yourself Ottobre harem pant03 680x1024 Ottobre Design Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

Many of you have heard me gush about Ottobre before, but I’m always happy to spread the European-fashion love.  Ottobre—if you don’t know already—is a Finnish fashion design magazine that includes about 40 complete patterns per children’s issue.  The designs are amazing! They’re modern, playful, functional, well-designed and creative. My heart skips a beat every time one shows up in the mail, and my kids love to slowly peruse each issue, making special orders for what they want me to make (especially Twinkle).  They have become my go-to source for kid’s clothes patterns, especially for their wide range of basics, and well-designed , professional collection of jeans, pants and jackets.  Each issue is loaded with patterns for both knits and wovens, and the project’s difficulty range from beginner to advanced. I absolutely love my Ottobre subscription!

mad mim stretch yourself Ottobre harem pant01 680x1024 Ottobre Design Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

Each Ottobre issue prints 40 patterns onto the front and back of four  3’ X 2’ sheets. There are probably around 5 patterns on each side, and each are color-coded for you to trace onto separate paper (love my exam-table paper!). Most of the time it’s not bad, but sometimes with patterns that have a lot of pieces it can get confusing. I suggest lots of good lighting, reading the instructions completely through before cutting out, and referring often to the diagram of cut pattern pieces diagram.

Everything thing I’ve ever made from Ottobre patterns has fit really well, been very well-designed, and turned out so professional-looking. The construction techniques are logical and extremely well-written (I’ve always been so impressed with whoever is translating them! It is important to note though, that there are no step-by-step diagrams, only written instructions. This means that you do have to be familiar with basic sewing techniques and terms beforehand. I wouldn’t suggest Ottobre to most beginners, but that being said, you don’t have to know everything to have success.  I would say if you have a good foundation then you’ll do well, and you’ll certainly learn a lot as you go, I know I have.  The sizing takes a bit of a learning curve as well, because it’s all done in centimeters. When determining what size to make, in my experience it’s best to base it on your child’s height rather than their chest and tummy measurement.

mad mim stretch yourself Ottobre harem pant02 680x1024 Ottobre Design Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

For Stretch Yourself, I decided to highlight the Harem pant pattern (#2 and #11) from the Spring 2011 issue, as it has become a real favorite around here. I have made this pattern FIVE times (they have a baby size as well), and my daughter is STILL asking for more. It is so simple, so unique, and so comfortable, which is why we both love this design so much.  She calls them her “genie pants”, and she has even gotten requests from her friends for some (not happening!) I actually would love to sport some of these myself! (hint hint for the women’s issue!)

I seriously can’t say how much I love Ottobre! You get a ton of bang for your buck, and even one year’s subscription would give you an amazing collection of patterns.  To me it’s just so exciting to have patterns for such modern and playful European designs, and to be able to produce such professional looking clothing!  Here are some of my favorite knitwear Ottobre designs  that I’ve made in the past! Merritt’s Grandpa Sweater, baby leggings, the Frenchie Stripes Tee, Birthday Flounce, and a cardigan and tee. In the pictures below Twinkle is also sporting a basic puffed sleeved tee from Ottobre that I’ve made close to 10 times (1/2011 #24)!

mad mim stretch yourself Ottobre harem pant04 680x1024 Ottobre Design Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

mad mim stretch yourself Ottobre harem pant05 618x1024 Ottobre Design Review and Giveaway // Stretch YourselfDetails:

Pattern: #2 and #11 from Ottobre’s Spring 2011 issue.  Child’s size 110.

Fabric: a slinky rayon knit I got for $2 a yard.

Check out Miranda‘s Ottobre project, I adore that little hoodie! I love the binding and owl print!

For your own chance to win a one year’s subscription (!!!) to Ottobre Design magazine (children’s AND women’s editions!), simply enter a comment below before January 25, 6 pm MST! PS that’s like a MILLION patterns!**closed**

BabyLock HortLogo K Tag1 Ottobre Design Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

divider

68 Comments

  1. Megan D
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 6:07 am | Permalink

    I have never heard of Ottobre, but it sounds like a great magazine! I would love a chance to see it.

  2. Mina
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 6:32 am | Permalink

    I love the look of this harem pant – and also Miranda’s adorable owl hoodie! I would LOVE to win the Ottobre subscription, it would really inspire me to go new ways with my sewing, I think. Thank you so much for this knit series, it has been both enlightening and inspirational! And also I think it has finally ended my doubts about sewing with strechty fabrics. ;) So, thank you!

  3. Jess Z
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 6:36 am | Permalink

    I have not heard of Ottobre, but I definitely plan on checking them out! Thanks for showcasing them and for hosting the giveaway!

  4. Posted January 19, 2013 at 6:49 am | Permalink

    I’ve heard of Ottobre but never checked them out- will DEFINITELY be checking them out now though- those pants are so cute!!

  5. Linda
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 7:08 am | Permalink

    I haven’t had the chance to look through Ottobre either, though I have heard of it before. Would love to get this opportunity to win a one-year subscription and expand my sewing horizons! Thanks!

  6. Posted January 19, 2013 at 7:27 am | Permalink

    What a great gift this would be.
    BTW, I have really enjoyed your serger series. Thank you!

  7. Posted January 19, 2013 at 7:37 am | Permalink

    Oh my gosh I really, really want to win this. I’ve been eyeing them after you first mentioned them and haven’t quite taken the plunge. Please let me win!
    And I have to say, Twinkle looks so much like my little sister when she was young. The hair, the glasses, the facial expressions. It’s like looking in the past!

  8. Sarah S.
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 7:38 am | Permalink

    I have been wanting to take the plunge and purchase a subscription for the last year. It was even on my Christmas wishlist :) Thanks for the great giveaway and reviewing the pattern.

  9. Lizz
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 7:44 am | Permalink

    Oh no another magazine subscription! But this one seems sooo worth it.

  10. Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:04 am | Permalink

    That would be so exciting to win. Although I don’t have kids yet, the women’s one would be awesome to have. I’d really like to get into sewing knits so this would be a nice little push in the right direction! Thanks for the great giveaway

  11. Cathy Kizerian
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:34 am | Permalink

    Ottobre is so awesome! I have been following this series with excitement to start sewing with knits again!!

  12. fenna
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:42 am | Permalink

    o man, I love Ottobre I just got a subscription from my husband for my birthday but would love to have another year!

  13. Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:51 am | Permalink

    Wow, I plan on checking this magazine out! Thanks for sharing.

  14. Rachel
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:53 am | Permalink

    I have been very interested in Ottobre ever since I found the free tank pattern they have. I always hope my library would get a subscription as well but it hasn’t happened yet. Might have to get a subscription myself.

  15. Betsy
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:59 am | Permalink

    oooh!! PATTERNS!! I’m excited!!

  16. Holly
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 10:45 am | Permalink

    eeeek … best giveaway ever! THANKS!

  17. LUCY L
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 11:10 am | Permalink

    Fantastic work!
    I love Ottobre too. From what I’ve seen, they have great children designs..

  18. Posted January 19, 2013 at 11:26 am | Permalink

    Thank you for the chance to win a subscription to Ottobre! I’ve always wanted to try them!

  19. Posted January 19, 2013 at 11:27 am | Permalink

    Always fun to try out new patterns and styles.
    Thanks for the chance.

  20. Eva
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 11:46 am | Permalink

    I visit Ottobre web often, but I have never decided to subscribe me.

    Maybe this is the moment ;)

  21. Posted January 19, 2013 at 11:47 am | Permalink

    I can’t even tell you how excited this would make me. I’ve wanted a subscription for YEARS. I suppose, I should just fork out the money, but if I win this, I would be SUPER, SUPER happy!!!

  22. Posted January 19, 2013 at 11:52 am | Permalink

    Oooooooo!!!!! Fabulous giveaway! I do love their patterns

  23. Annika
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 12:07 pm | Permalink

    Uh, I so wanna win this!!!

  24. Emily
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 12:36 pm | Permalink

    I have learnt so much from this series, thank you. Would love the chance to explore these magazines all year. Fingers crossed

  25. Elise
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 12:47 pm | Permalink

    Wow, that looks amazing! Hope I win! And thank you for doing this series- its been great!

  26. Hannah
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 12:48 pm | Permalink

    I’m blown away with all your information and GREAT giveaways through this series! THANKS!! I hope I win THIS one!!!

  27. Laura
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 1:00 pm | Permalink

    What a great giveaway! I would love to win this one!

  28. Amanda
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 1:23 pm | Permalink

    Oh, I love Ottobre so much. Would love to win this. Thanks for all the great posts over the last two weeks. They’ve been so inspiring!

  29. Posted January 19, 2013 at 1:27 pm | Permalink

    I love the Ottobre magazines! I’ve purchased two of the women’s magazines and would love to have them all.

  30. Posted January 19, 2013 at 1:42 pm | Permalink

    I want to win this, but I’m pretty sure I don’t deserve it. I’ve been practicing, though!

  31. Posted January 19, 2013 at 4:34 pm | Permalink

    What a great giveaway! Thanks for the opportunity.

  32. Posted January 19, 2013 at 6:18 pm | Permalink

    This is the best giveaway … would put it to good use!

  33. kelly
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 7:34 pm | Permalink

    I’ve seen these patterns/magazine online. I was always intimidated to purchase the magazine thinking I’d never be able to sew one of the items. If I won the subscription I’d give it my best shot though!

  34. Julie
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 8:13 pm | Permalink

    I’d love to get my hands on this! Thanks.

  35. Brittany Dunlap
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:54 pm | Permalink

    OMG I would love to win this!!!!!

  36. Posted January 19, 2013 at 10:11 pm | Permalink

    This is awesome! I’m recently in love with Ottobre magazine.
    Thank you for having these great giveaways!

  37. Angela
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 12:19 am | Permalink

    Wow this subscription would be awesome!

  38. Posted January 20, 2013 at 3:20 am | Permalink

    I love European designs, but have never sewn any, and if your kids love looking through the designs, what a great testimony to Ottobre’s cuteness!! Thanks for the giveaway.

  39. christy
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 7:27 am | Permalink

    Wow. Those pants are beyond awesome.

  40. Denise
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 7:52 am | Permalink

    That is an awesome prize! I would love to win. :)

  41. Jennifer Unruh
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 9:00 am | Permalink

    Great patterns–I hope that Ottobre will be introduced more widely in the U.S. In the meanwhile, I would so love a subscription–please enter me in the giveaway!
    ~Jen

  42. Deana
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 9:19 am | Permalink

    I’ve been thinking about subscribing to Ottobre – it would be amazing to win!

  43. Posted January 20, 2013 at 11:41 am | Permalink

    Fingers crossed here…I love Ottobre but don’t have the budget at the moment.

  44. tabitha
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 1:21 pm | Permalink

    Would love this!

  45. Mary
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 4:00 pm | Permalink

    Oh, I would love to win!

  46. Hayley
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 4:21 pm | Permalink

    I would really enjoy actually being able to see Ottobre after hearing so much about it.

  47. Posted January 20, 2013 at 6:08 pm | Permalink

    O what fun! I love those pants!

  48. Kaydee
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 10:18 pm | Permalink

    These pants are great; I would love some of these…and a subscription! :)

  49. Amy U
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 11:41 am | Permalink

    I’m married to a stubborn Fin AND I love Ottobre so I really think I should win this.

  50. Posted January 21, 2013 at 12:14 pm | Permalink

    Those pants are awesome. I really want to make some for my daughter. Too bad it’s so hard to get a hold of that magazine.

  51. Posted January 21, 2013 at 2:41 pm | Permalink

    I’ve always read about how much you love the Ottobre patterns. I would love to try them!

  52. Posted January 21, 2013 at 2:41 pm | Permalink

    ive been dying for some of these patterns!!!!
    everything you have made from their mag is soooooo amazing!

  53. Posted January 21, 2013 at 3:08 pm | Permalink

    I would love a subscription to Ottobre! I have been admiring their style for awhile now, just can’t afford the subscription.

  54. Holli Coats
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 6:21 pm | Permalink

    I’d love to win a subscription- and to the children’s AND women’s… oh my!

  55. Sherri
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 7:11 pm | Permalink

    Cute pants. Another great giveaway.

  56. Karen
    Posted January 22, 2013 at 3:49 pm | Permalink

    Love Ottobre. They have such unique ideas

  57. Sarah Dale
    Posted January 23, 2013 at 5:16 pm | Permalink

    I’ve read such good reviews of Ottobre and have two kids. I would *love* to win a subscription!

  58. Posted January 24, 2013 at 5:33 am | Permalink

    I love this magazine!!!

  59. Júlia
    Posted January 24, 2013 at 6:22 am | Permalink

    I’d love to win the giveaway

  60. Posted January 24, 2013 at 6:36 am | Permalink

    I just discovered this magazine and I love it … would be great so I pointed

  61. HENAR
    Posted January 24, 2013 at 12:43 pm | Permalink

    Oh!!! I love OTTOBRE!!!!
    I would love to win!

  62. Posted January 24, 2013 at 9:55 pm | Permalink

    Stop it! What a fabulous giveaway! I just started hearing about Ottobre and am so interested in them!

  63. Posted January 25, 2013 at 6:41 am | Permalink

    I would love to win! the patterns are amazing-Jen

  64. Lacy H
    Posted January 25, 2013 at 4:05 pm | Permalink

    This looks like so much fun! I’d love to win!

  65. Posted January 25, 2013 at 4:05 pm | Permalink

    Ew da lolly I didn’t enter for this give away too. Here is my entrance, just barely! Well here its 5:00 but I guess there it is 4:00.

  66. Emily
    Posted January 25, 2013 at 5:22 pm | Permalink

    What a great give-away!

  67. Brooke
    Posted January 31, 2013 at 7:18 am | Permalink

    Just found your website via Me Sew Crazy :) I’ve never heard of Ottobre before, but would love to know how I could order a subscription! I went to ottobredesign.com, but don’t read/speak finnish…hee hee! Thanks, and I love your website!

    • Posted January 31, 2013 at 8:07 am | Permalink

      Hi Brooke, nice to have you here! When you first go to their site, there’s a list of language options on the left side, and English is the second choice down. That will fix your problem! I definitely don’t read finnish either!
      You’ll love Ottobre!

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • sidebar divider
    • sidebar divider
    • sponsors

    • sidebar divider
    • Grab a Button

      onelittleminute big button
    • sidebar divider
    • Recent pins

    • Instagrams

       
    • copyright stuff

      all the stuff (photos & tutorials etc) that you see around here is copyrighted by me (miriam tribe) for madmim.com. when using any of my stuff (photos & tutorials etc) for your stuff (blog, website or forum) please cite my website & work by linking back. thanks!