Oliver + S’s Raglan Tee Shirt Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

This series is sponsored by Baby Lock. For over 40 years,  Babylock has been dedicated to the love of sewing by creating machines for sewing, embroidery, quilting and serging – all with ease-of-use, high quality and a touch of elegance.

stretch yourself logo  Oliver + Ss Raglan Tee Shirt Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself


mad mim stretch yourself Oliver + S pattern review04  Oliver + Ss Raglan Tee Shirt Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

For kids there is nothing more classic and functional than a basic raglan tee. They’re are gender neutral, comfortable, and super versatile. I love simple raglan tee pattern from Oliver + S!  It is the perfect cooler weather tee, and it was so fast and easy to whip one up for each of my kids!

This is one of the few Oliver + S patterns that comes in both paper and digital formats, which makes it convenient if you get a hankering to sew NOW, which frequently I am.  I was a little intimidated when I first printed the pattern out because of the 42 pages, but if you’re more observant than me you’ll notice that only half  the pages are for the tee; save yourself some paper and only print out the the pages you need! It took me a few minutes to figure out the method for tiling the pages, which is to cut off the borders of each page so that you can then align each page using a grid as your guide. I think it was more time consuming to have to cut the border off each page, however I do think that the grid made it much easier to assemble the patterns more accurately and with less distortion.  FYI, the tiling map (that tells you how all the patterns fit together) is the very LAST page (for a while I thought there just wasn’t one).

The construction for this raglan tee is a breeze. The instructions were super clear and easy (great diagrams) and the techniques were simple–I loved this little trick of basting around the pocket before folding under along the stitching, so easy! I also was impressed with the neckband proportions; so often you have trouble shoot to get just the right amount of stretch for it to lie flat. The proportions were perfect on all three tees that I made! The one thing I did differently was to stabilize  the raw edges of the sleeves and hem with a serged-edge before turning under to top stitch, as it can be so hard to turn under a raw edge without doing so because the fabric tends to roll!

The fit was great, and you really get a lot of bang for you buck with this pattern due to it’s wide range of sizes included in one pattern! I got the 6M-4T, and was able to make shirts for my 1, 3 and 5 year old children.  For the 5 T I just used 1/4″ seam allowances rather than 1/2″, and then extended the length a few inches (I didn’t extend the sleeves because I wanted them to be 3/4′s), and it turned out perfectly.

As a little bonus, my kids and I both found the retro Dick and Jane style pattern artwork  irresistible, and the whole presentation gets an A+.  Overall this pattern is a gem. It’s just one of those go-to patterns that never goes out of style, and I know I’ll turn to it again and again.

mad mim stretch yourself Oliver + S pattern review05  Oliver + Ss Raglan Tee Shirt Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

*note that this version has 3/4 length sleeves, but that the pattern will make a long sleeve–see other photos for reference.

mad mim stretch yourself Oliver + S pattern review03  Oliver + Ss Raglan Tee Shirt Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

mad mim stretch yourself Oliver + S pattern review02  Oliver + Ss Raglan Tee Shirt Review and Giveaway // Stretch YourselfDetails: Pattern: Oliver + S Raglan T-shirt sizes 12-18M and 4T (for my 5 year old I used smaller seam allowances and extended the length).

Fabrics: For Twinkle and Tiny I used this happy delicate floral cotton lycra knit from the Fabric Fairy (who has TONS of beautiful floral knits!) and a contrasting solid purple knit I had on hand. For Tito’s boy version I took two solid blue knits and hand printed a tribal-dinasaurish print onto the sleeves and neckband. Designs like this raglan tee are so perfect for hand printing because you can do a relatively small amount of printing (just the sleeves) and still get the overall hand printed look.

I love both of Miranda’s Field Trip Tees! Head on over there to see her versions!

For your own copy of O + S’s Field Trip Tee, simply leave a comment below by January 21, 6 pm MST for a chance to win! **closed**

BabyLock HortLogo K Tag1  Oliver + Ss Raglan Tee Shirt Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

divider

31 Comments

  1. Posted January 15, 2013 at 6:06 am | Permalink

    Fingers Crossed! I’d love to try out the pattern!!

  2. Bettina
    Posted January 15, 2013 at 6:22 am | Permalink

    Thank you for the giveaway! I’ve always wanted to try these patterns. The kids are so cute!

  3. Posted January 15, 2013 at 7:00 am | Permalink

    I would love to win this awesome pattern! -Jen

  4. Posted January 15, 2013 at 8:07 am | Permalink

    I love that your girls match! And I love the print for your sons! I’d love a new pattern!

  5. alexa
    Posted January 15, 2013 at 8:14 am | Permalink

    I’d love to try this pattern for my girls.

  6. HollySharp
    Posted January 15, 2013 at 8:20 am | Permalink

    I’d love to try this out … thanks!

  7. Jess Z
    Posted January 15, 2013 at 8:21 am | Permalink

    Thanks for sharing your looks and review. This is a definite must have pattern! Thanks for hosting the giveaway! mfrapp_83 [at] yahoo [dot] com

  8. Kelly
    Posted January 15, 2013 at 9:33 am | Permalink

    I would love to win this pattern! I’ve tried my hand at making my own raglan tee patterns, but I seem to be missing something, they just never come out right. It’d be nice to have a ready made pattern to turn to! Thanks for the giveaway.

  9. Crystal
    Posted January 15, 2013 at 11:43 am | Permalink

    Great job! would love to win that pattern.

  10. Posted January 15, 2013 at 1:27 pm | Permalink

    What a great pattern, I can always use more knitwear patterns!

  11. Deana
    Posted January 15, 2013 at 2:26 pm | Permalink

    Oliver+s has the greatest patterns. Would love to win this one!

  12. Posted January 15, 2013 at 2:55 pm | Permalink

    Oh I’d love to win this pattern, such a great wardrobe staple for boys and girls.

  13. Elise
    Posted January 15, 2013 at 2:58 pm | Permalink

    Aw, so cute! I would love to win that pattern.

  14. Amy U
    Posted January 15, 2013 at 3:41 pm | Permalink

    Looks like the go-to pattern for my little kids! I’d love to give it a shot. And I’m saving all of your sewing-with-knits posts forever. Thanks!

  15. Posted January 16, 2013 at 12:59 am | Permalink

    Omigosh she is so cute! I own this pattern already but would love to win it in the bigger size range, because I’ve made three for my son already! It’s a great one.

  16. YAM B Fan
    Posted January 16, 2013 at 8:56 am | Permalink

    Sew Cute! (sorry, couldn’t help myself) Little Tiny is so adorable it’s heartbreaking. Love Tito’s pose, and they all looks so happy and cute– the 3/4 sleeve on Twinkle is perfect! I’m amazed at how professional that pattern turns out (with your amazing sewing).

  17. Angela M
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 2:38 am | Permalink

    What a lovely pattern, it would be perfect for my first step into sewing with knit!

  18. eva
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 11:38 am | Permalink

    so cute, thanks for this giveaway

  19. Kaydee
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 12:31 pm | Permalink

    I love this pattern and your versions are perfect! Your children are just too cute too!

  20. fenna
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 1:58 pm | Permalink

    That is a neat beginners’ t pattern!

  21. Sarah
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 2:00 pm | Permalink

    Super-cute t-shirts! Your hand painting is amazing, I would never have known it wasn’t part of the fabric if you hadn’t said.

    BTW this series is amazing, I happened across it while looking for online knit fabric store reviews, so glad I did. I’m almost convinced I *need* a serger :-)

  22. emily
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 12:45 am | Permalink

    I love that this series hasn’t forgotten about the boys. Would love to try this tshirt. Thanks

  23. Megan D
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 9:39 am | Permalink

    would love to try this pattern for my girls!

  24. Lucinda Poel
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 7:29 pm | Permalink

    I’ve enviously been eyeing this pattern for awhile, but am on a pattern buying freeze. If I were to win it, however, that would be a different story:) Lovely tops – all three!

  25. Rachel
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 10:31 am | Permalink

    Wow! I am amazed at all the giveaways you are having! And, I love all the products and want them! I have several Oliver patterns but would always love more. Thanks.

  26. Julie
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 8:04 pm | Permalink

    Super cute! My girls would like this.

  27. Brittany Dunlap
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 10:11 pm | Permalink

    This would be perfect for my 2 little boys!

  28. Hayley
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 4:55 pm | Permalink

    I would love to have another Oliver + S pattern. Especially a gender neutral one like this.

  29. Natalie
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 11:35 pm | Permalink

    Would love to win this. This pattern would definitely get a workout in our house!

  30. susan james
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 7:51 am | Permalink

    excellent article. love to sew on knits and now have a wealth of information to use. thanks for the articles

  31. Posted January 21, 2013 at 2:51 pm | Permalink

    I’d love to try out this pattern.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • sidebar divider
    • sidebar divider
    • sponsors

    • sidebar divider
    • Grab a Button

      onelittleminute big button
    • sidebar divider
    • Instagrams

       
    • copyright stuff

      all the stuff (photos & tutorials etc) that you see around here is copyrighted by me (miriam tribe) for madmim.com. when using any of my stuff (photos & tutorials etc) for your stuff (blog, website or forum) please cite my website & work by linking back. thanks!