Megan Nielsen’s Briar Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

This series is sponsored by Baby Lock. For over 40 years,  Babylock has been dedicated to the love of sewing by creating machines for sewing, embroidery, quilting and serging – all with ease-of-use, high quality and a touch of elegance.stretch yourself logo Megan Nielsens Briar Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself mad mim stretch yourself Megan Nielsens Briar review 01 Megan Nielsens Briar Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

It’s no secret I’m in love with Megan. The girl’s got talent and impeccable style oozing out her ears, and is really one of the nicest people I’ve ever worked with.  I was thrilled when we were able to add her newest pattern the Briar T-shirt to our list of pattern reviews! I’m so excited to share the details with you, as I really really love this shirt.

First of all, let’s have a heart to heart about Megan’s branding. It’s absolutely pitch perfect, and is literally so appealing that you can’t wait to get started.  I love the little instruction booklet, and the sturdy paper patterns are made to last.  I suggest tracing your desired design rather than cutting into the enclosed patterns, because there are so many variations that you’ll want to make several, I’m guessing.

The instructions are very detailed, and are geared towards someone who isn’t familiar with pattern-speak.  She explains techniques in simple terms, and adds a lot of additional explanations for beginning sewists.  The pockets and neckline  include a couple different construction techniques depending on what look you want and level you’re at, so really the Briar covers a pretty wide range of techniques for being a single pattern.  It’s easy and stylish, and great twist on the basic tee.

elena1 Megan Nielsens Briar Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself
mad mim stretch yourself Megan Nielsens Briar review 02 Megan Nielsens Briar Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

The high-low hem is trendy and very flattering, and the cropped version is so fun and a great layering piece. I have never liked anything cropped before, so it’s saying a lot that I chose that variation to make first (I get so many compliments on it!) My second version pictured here I actually made as Christmas gift for my baby sister LJ, and this time went for the normal length ( I actually lengthened the front an inch or so). Again, I went for that hand-printed side-pocket addition like I did with my first, as well as the shoulder applique which is so fun (I just did mine from the same hand-printed fabric).

I really love this pattern!  It has like a kazillion simple variations, and it even has brief instructions on how to change the high-low to a straight hem if you want. This is a perfect beginner’s project, and so fun and versatile that you’ll want to make several!

Go check out Miranda‘s version of the Briar, I love her cropped variation, and the color and texture of her fabric is so pretty!

For a chance to win your own copy of Megan Nielsen’s Briar Tee, simply leave a comment below by January 24, 6 pm!**closed**

BabyLock HortLogo K Tag1 Megan Nielsens Briar Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

divider

38 Comments

  1. Posted January 18, 2013 at 6:53 am | Permalink

    So cute! Love the accent pocket

  2. Jess Z
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 6:54 am | Permalink

    What a great versatile pattern! Thanks for hosting the giveaway!

  3. Posted January 18, 2013 at 7:41 am | Permalink

    I love that you matched the pocket with the shoulder pieces! Great job!
    I’d love to win!

  4. Posted January 18, 2013 at 8:11 am | Permalink

    I’ve been dying to try out this pattern. I generally abhor those hi-lo hems (I call them mullet hems, ha), but I can’t stop admiring this one. I especially love the cropped versions; I could see myself living in them all summer. Such a great pattern!

  5. Elise
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 8:12 am | Permalink

    Wow, I really love the handprinting! Great job:)

  6. Megan D
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 9:12 am | Permalink

    Very cute! Would love a chance to try the pattern.

  7. Katrina
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 9:17 am | Permalink

    such a pretty variation on this pattern.

  8. Posted January 18, 2013 at 9:17 am | Permalink

    Love this version! The graphic printing is really wonderful as well. I’ve seen this pattern but I’m not really into the cropped look – but this length looks great!

  9. Posted January 18, 2013 at 9:51 am | Permalink

    Super adorable! I’ve had my eye on this pattern! Thanks for hosting!

  10. Sarah
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 10:21 am | Permalink

    Great pattern. Thanks for the giveaway!

  11. Eva
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 10:45 am | Permalink

    I want it!
    Thanks for this giveaway!

  12. kelly
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 10:49 am | Permalink

    I absolutely LOVE the Briar shirt, that pattern has been on my “list” of patterns I want to try….thanks for the chance to win!

  13. Posted January 18, 2013 at 11:05 am | Permalink

    The Briar shirt is so cute, although I think I would need convincing to make the cropped version. I don’t think I have the attitude to pull it off! Your shirts are very cute and are making me think twice!

  14. Posted January 18, 2013 at 11:59 am | Permalink

    I’d love to try out this pattern!

  15. Mary
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 12:51 pm | Permalink

    I love Megan Nielsen’s patterns. I wasn’t convinced about the high-low hem but after seeing how yours have turned out I would love to give the Briar a go!

  16. Sarah
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 1:03 pm | Permalink

    Wonderful! Such a cute twist on the regular shirt.

  17. Emily
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 1:49 pm | Permalink

    I love your version, would love to try this pattern myself

  18. Ale
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 4:14 pm | Permalink

    This version of the Briar has just made me realise how versatile this pattern is. I wish I could win it… Thanks for the Stretch Yourself series!

  19. Meg
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 5:17 pm | Permalink

    This likes a great pattern. I have heard nothing but wonderful things about Megan Nielsen patterns.

  20. Posted January 18, 2013 at 5:51 pm | Permalink

    Looks like a great book if the example is any indication. What a fun version of a T-Shirt!

  21. Posted January 19, 2013 at 6:26 am | Permalink

    Wow, so cute, and unique….easy flow feel…love it!

  22. Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:32 am | Permalink

    Gorgeous top! I’ve never tried a Megan Nielson pattern but really want to give one a go and the Briar top is definitely the one that’s caught my eye!

  23. Rachel
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 9:57 am | Permalink

    This version of the Briar looks very cute, I like the longer length-not sure I can pull off a cropped one.

  24. Posted January 19, 2013 at 12:13 pm | Permalink

    Such a cute the Briar T-shirt!!! I love this version!

  25. Sara
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 12:24 pm | Permalink

    I would love to win this pattern! I’ve been lusting over it ever since it came out! I love supporting independent pattern designers, but it can be difficult since the prices are often (understandably) much more expensive than commercial patterns. I have the perfect knits for this pattern as well! Having bought beautiful jersey in France a couple years ago that’s just been sitting in a box, itching to be sewn…

  26. Janelle
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 1:21 pm | Permalink

    This would be awesome. I love Megan too and I’ve been following her blog for a while, she’s a brilliant lady.

  27. EmmaSL
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 4:30 pm | Permalink

    I really wasn’t sure about this pattern before today, but that looks awesome!

  28. Julie D.
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 6:42 pm | Permalink

    I love that MN pattern and would love to get a little more experience sewing with knits!

  29. Julie
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 8:11 pm | Permalink

    Love the hem line on this! My dd is totally into shirts like these. Thanks!

  30. Angela
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 3:28 pm | Permalink

    I love the different variations for skill levels :)

  31. Hayley
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 4:23 pm | Permalink

    I would love a chance to try out one of Megan Nielson’s patterns.

  32. Kaydee
    Posted January 20, 2013 at 10:56 pm | Permalink

    Great shirt! Thanks for the giveaway!

  33. Amy U
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 5:21 pm | Permalink

    It looks soft and flowing and comfy, which is all I wear.

  34. Sherri McGee
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 7:13 pm | Permalink

    I really like this shirt. Thanks for the giveaway.

  35. Debbie
    Posted January 22, 2013 at 4:59 am | Permalink

    This is a really cute design. Thank you for a chance to win!

  36. Karen
    Posted January 22, 2013 at 3:51 pm | Permalink

    Such a unique Tshirt!

  37. Mary
    Posted January 22, 2013 at 4:09 pm | Permalink

    Exciting knit projects to do.

  38. Posted January 24, 2013 at 5:38 am | Permalink

    I don´t know if i am late. Great pattern!

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • sidebar divider
    • sidebar divider
    • sponsors

    • sidebar divider
    • Grab a Button

      onelittleminute big button
    • sidebar divider
    • Recent pins

    • copyright stuff

      all the stuff (photos & tutorials etc) that you see around here is copyrighted by me (miriam tribe) for madmim.com. when using any of my stuff (photos & tutorials etc) for your stuff (blog, website or forum) please cite my website & work by linking back. thanks!