Figgy’s Banyan Tee Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

This series is sponsored by Baby Lock. For over 40 years,  Babylock has been dedicated to the love of sewing by creating machines for sewing, embroidery, quilting and serging – all with ease-of-use, high quality and a touch of elegance.

stretch yourself logo Figgys Banyan Tee Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

The first time I saw a Figgy’s Pattern while scrolling through Pinterest I almost fell out of my seat.  A modern, American, CHILDREN’S pattern company?! How did I not know about them always!

mad mim stretch yourself figgy review 4 Figgys Banyan Tee Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

I’m a huge fan of Shelly’s clean and modern asthetic, and I adore how fresh and functional the Banyan tees are. Both the boy’s and girl’s patterns and instructions are in one pdf, and once printed, the pattern tiles together quickly and easily.  She suggests tracing the pattern instead of cutting up the tiled pages, which is smart—I know I’ll be using this pattern  again, so it saves me taping and assembling time in the future.

I love the way these shirts come together. The detailed instructions are the same for both versions, so there are just a few variations for each one (i.e. the hems).  One thing I liked about the construction was that you attach the neck band after sewing just one shoulder together, so that you’re attaching the band to an open neck rather than a closed circle. This makes it easier to stretch the band evenly, and it’s just a breeze to attach.  That being said, it is a little tougher to recognize if the band needs to be tighter, because it’s hard to tell if it will lie completely flat until you assemble the shoulder.  On my first version the band wasn’t quite tight enough (it wasn’t lying flat), so I had to seam rip the shoulder apart again and then remove the band to shorten it’s length a little.

It’s the small details that make these shirts such standouts—the sleeve cuff on the boy’s tee, and the handkerchief hem on the girl’s are both so cool and easy. Both tees have great style lines (especially the lovely a-line girls version!) and my kids love how comfortable they are. The fit and sizing for both are fantastic; the only alterations I made were minor: I lengthened my boy’s version slightly as my kiddos tend to have pretty long torsos, and shortened the length and added a teensy bit to the width of the  neck bands.  I had originally made a boy’s version in the same navy stripe as my girl’s but failed to prewash, and it shrunk ridiculously. So I just threw it on my baby girl, and added a little elastic through the neck casing to bring it in. It gives an oversized-tunic-tee look for her, and paired with some leggings, I really love it.

On top of the pitch perfect styling of the shirts, Figgy’s branding is exceptional—the whole pdf is pretty and exciting to work from.  This would be a great beginner’s project, but will likely attract sewists from all different levels because of the stylish design. So now I have one for each my kids and I can’t wait to make more!

mad mim stretch yourself figgy review 2 Figgys Banyan Tee Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

mad mim stretch yourself figgy review 6 Figgys Banyan Tee Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

mad mim stretch yourself figgy review 3 Figgys Banyan Tee Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

mad Mim stretchyourself figgy pattern review01 Figgys Banyan Tee Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

mad Mim stretchyourself figgy pattern review02 Figgys Banyan Tee Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

mad Mim stretchyourself figgy pattern review04 Figgys Banyan Tee Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

Details

Pattern: Figgy’s fabulous Banyan Tee–sizes boy 4/5  and girl 6/7.

Fabric: For Twinkle and Tiny’s I used a navy and white striped 1 way stretch knit (which made the neckbands a little hard, and likely the reason I had to alter the length), that I got for $2/yd at NPS. Tito’s happy stripe interlock knit was a remnant I snagged from a friend.

I’m dying over Miranda‘s little Banyan tops, Milo’s version is so hipster! LOVE. Go check them out!

For your very own copy of Figgy’s Banyan Tee simply leave a comment below by January 23, 6 pm MST for a chance to win!**closed**

BabyLock HortLogo K Tag1 Figgys Banyan Tee Review and Giveaway // Stretch Yourself

divider

27 Comments

  1. Posted January 17, 2013 at 6:04 am | Permalink

    that pattern looks amazing!!

  2. Posted January 17, 2013 at 6:53 am | Permalink

    Love the pattern (and your fabric choices!) -Jen

  3. Posted January 17, 2013 at 8:21 am | Permalink

    Awesome! I love all the fun details and how it’s different for a boy and a girl! You did a great job for your kids!
    I hope I win!

  4. Jess Z
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 9:42 am | Permalink

    Wow! I love the versatility of this pattern! Thanks for showing two versions of the pattern and for hosting such a great giveaway! :)

  5. kelly
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 9:49 am | Permalink

    I love the asymmetrical hem on the girls shirt! With 3 kids, I could definitely get a lot out of that pattern!

  6. Katie M
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 10:09 am | Permalink

    Cute Cute Cute Cute Cute Cute!

  7. eva
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 11:35 am | Permalink

    I really love figgy’s patterns!
    thanks for this giveaway

  8. Susanne
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 11:48 am | Permalink

    Hi Miriam, as always love your work and clever how you rescued that Tee for your little girl. That is way I always (and I mean always) pre-wash each fabric right after I have them in my house.
    I would of course love to win a Banyan e-pattern :-)
    Okay for now, need to get back to preparing dinner for me and my partner (little P. is already in dreamland – it is 7.45 p.m. around here)
    And hey feel more than welcome if you ever visit my spot of the worl – our house is fairly big with lots of space for sleepovers :-) (although space might become rarer with a hopefully growing family in the future)
    Greets, Susanne

  9. marseille
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 12:20 pm | Permalink

    since i just got a new sewing machine for christmas, i would love a new pattern to try out!

  10. heather e
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 12:39 pm | Permalink

    Those seriously look store-bought! How perfect!

  11. Holly
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 12:40 pm | Permalink

    Ooh…thanks! I’ve really wanted to try a Figgys pattern!

  12. Posted January 17, 2013 at 1:01 pm | Permalink

    This pattern is so fun!

  13. Posted January 17, 2013 at 1:10 pm | Permalink

    The most adorable models! Love these tees!

  14. fenna
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 1:56 pm | Permalink

    That looks like such a fun basic pattern

  15. Posted January 17, 2013 at 2:05 pm | Permalink

    Oh my gosh perfect ! would love to win!

  16. Christy G
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 6:47 pm | Permalink

    Wow. Love the girls version. But I have one of each so I can use them both!

  17. Emma
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 8:25 pm | Permalink

    I do not want to enter this giveaway – hi kids in my life, really – but I did want to say that these shirts are super cute!

  18. emily
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 12:41 am | Permalink

    My little man would look so handsome in this tshirt.

  19. Megan D
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 10:01 am | Permalink

    Super cute! Would love to try making some for my girls, and my nephew!

  20. Sarah
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 10:28 am | Permalink

    You did a great job. I really like the pocket detail and changing the direction of the fabric, nice touch.

  21. Angela M
    Posted January 18, 2013 at 10:35 pm | Permalink

    Looks lovely :)

  22. Rachel
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 10:04 am | Permalink

    Love this Tee! I was just at the store looking at shirts for my daughter and couldn’t allow myself to spend the $10.00 (on clearance) for something I could possibly make for much cheaper. I would love to have this patttern.

  23. Julie
    Posted January 19, 2013 at 8:09 pm | Permalink

    Love it! My girls would love it.

  24. Posted January 21, 2013 at 2:45 pm | Permalink

    I would love to make some tees for my 3 girls.

  25. Amy U
    Posted January 21, 2013 at 5:25 pm | Permalink

    Oh for the cuteness of your kids. You just know what to make for them.

  26. Posted January 23, 2013 at 8:07 pm | Permalink

    why are you so cool? your kids have the best wardrobe ever and you get all of the credit. Adorable- all of them. THanks for linking up!

    kIlee

    • Posted January 24, 2013 at 1:01 am | Permalink

      I’m just glad to finally have something to link up! This series will give me ammo for the next month!

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • sidebar divider
    • sidebar divider
    • sponsors

    • sidebar divider
    • Grab a Button

      onelittleminute big button
    • sidebar divider
    • Recent pins

    • Instagrams

       
    • copyright stuff

      all the stuff (photos & tutorials etc) that you see around here is copyrighted by me (miriam tribe) for madmim.com. when using any of my stuff (photos & tutorials etc) for your stuff (blog, website or forum) please cite my website & work by linking back. thanks!